Thursday, 10 October 2019


The 2019 annual exhibition of the Melbourne Chapter was held over four days, Thursday to Sunday, in a vacant retail space in District Docklands, on the west side of the Melbourne central business district. The space was very large being approximately 10 metres X 16 metres. Because of the size of the space it was possible for the thirty one participating members to exhibit at the same time.

On the setup day the space was a hive of activity

Members set individual and collaborative works. 

Unfortunately the configuration of the space and the use of our Shoji screens made a photograph of the whole exhibition in one view impossible.

An invitation only, formal opening of the exhibition was held on the first evening. The Chapter President Mrs Trish Ward welcomed Mr Shota TOHARA, the Vice Consul of Japan, who gave a short speech and formally opened the exhibition. 

Below are photographs of the works in the exhibition.

Akemi Suzuki, Sogetsu School.

Angela Chau, Ikenobo School.

Belinda Au, Ohara School.

Chieko Yazaki, Shogetsudo koryu School.

Chiemi Daly, Shogetsudo koryu School.

Christopher James, Sogetsu School.

Emily Karanikolopoulos, Sogetsu School.

Felicia Huang, Ohara School.

Helen Marriott, Shogetsudo koryu School.

Ivy Loo, Ohara School.

Jenny Loo, Sogetsu School.

Josephine Tan, Ohara School.

Julie Ireland, Sogetsu School.

Katrina Cunningham, Ichiyo School.

Kaye Wong, Ichiyo School.

Kim Louey, Ichiyo School.

Kim Ng, Ohara School.

Lucy Papas, Sogetsu School.

Lyn Wong, Ohara School.

Margaret Leung, Sogetsu School.

Margaret Wilson, Sogetsu School.

Marina Dunn, Shogetsudo koryu School.

Midori Nakajima, Sogetsu School.

Naomi Cullen, Ichiyo School.

Nobuko Kobayashi, Ichiyo School.

Ohara School group exhibit: Felicia Huang, Ivy Loo, Kim Ng, Josephine Tan.

Pearl Yau, Sogetsu School.

Qin Li, Ichiyo School.

Rachel Lok, Shogetsudo koryu School.

Shogetsudo koryu School group exhibit:
Chieko Yazaki, Rachel Lok, Chiemi Daly, Helen Marriott, Marina Dunn. 

Swann Lam, Sogetsu School.

Trish Ward, Sogetsu School.

Yukako Braun, Ikenobo School.

No comments:

Post a comment