Sunday, 5 August 2018


The annual exhibition of the Melbourne Chapter was held in the lobby of the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. The exhibition was for one week and concluded on Monday, 30th July. Because of the space available, length of the exhibition and the number of members who participated, the exhibition was divided into two 'sessions'.

The Sofitel is an established supporter of the arts community and a number of spaces in the hotel are used for exhibitions throughout the year. We are very grateful to the Sofitel for their support in being the hosting venue for this major event in our annual program. 

We used our shoji screens to define the space and provide additional backgrounds for the ikebana. This has meant it is not possible to give a single overall view of the exhibition.

The opening of the exhibition was held on the evening of Thursday 26th July. Mr Yoshimitsu Kawata, the Deputy Consul-General of Japan, and his wife were our honoured guests. Mr Kawata formally opened the exhibition on behalf of the Consul-General, Mr Matsunaga, who with his wife are the patrons of the Chapter.

Above the Deputy Consul-General, Mr Yoshimitsu Kawata and Mrs Trish Ward, President of Ikebana International Melbourne Chapter.

The first four photos of are of ikebana works by the Melbourne Chapter, Heads of ikebana Schools. These stayed in place over both sessions of the exhibition.

Chieko Yazaki, Head of the Shogetsudo Koryu School.

Christopher James, Head of the Sogetsu School.

Aiko Nakada, Head of the Ohara School, assisted by Lyn Wong. 

Naomi Cullen, Head of the Ichiyo School.

The next series of photos are works by individual members in the first session of the exhibition.

Judy Hajdu, Ohara School.

Kaye Wong, Ichiyo School.

Kyoko Imai, Sogetsu School.

Lee Johnstone, Sogetsu School.

Felicia Huang, Ohara School.

Chiemi Daly, Shogetsudo Koryu School.

Lorraine Langley, Ikenobo School.

Beverley Webster, Sogetsu School.

Margaret Wilson, Sogetsu School.

Lucy Papas, Sogetsu School.

Elizabeth Angell, Sogetsu School.

The following photographs are from the second session of the exhibition.

Lara Telford, Sogetsu School.

Helen Novic, Sogetsu School.

Trish Ward, Sogetsu School.

Julie Ayers, Ikenobo School.

Toula Karanikolopoulos, Sogetsu School.

Rie Sasaki, Ichiyo School.

Kim Louey, Ichiyo School.

Ivy Loo, Ohara School.

Katrina Cunningham, Ichiyo School.

Kim Ng, Ohara School.

Emily Karanikolopoulos, Sogetsu School.

No comments:

Post a comment